This week I read more than I wrote (and that’s okay)

The headlines from three amazing pieces I read this week.
The headlines from three amazing pieces I read this week.

Though most chestnuts of writing advice often miss the mark for me, there is one from Stephen King that rattles around in my brain frequently:

If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.

Some weeks (like this week) I may not have had enough time to dedicate to writing, but I always try to read a handful of articles a day, along with headlines and breaking news.

I keep Twitter open throughout the day as my own personal news ticker. I’ll save pieces that pique my interest to Pocket and read them as I get a few minutes here or there.

Here’s a list of some of the ones I’ve read since my last post. Some are new, some are old but all of them made me think.

For a daily version of this, follow me on Twitter. Happy reading!

The Métis Question: Defining the uniquely Canadian people who founded Manitoba is no easy task
By Mary Ages Welch, Winnipeg Free Press

We’re Telling the Wrong Black History Month Stories
By Ashley Nicole Black, attn:

Why Women Don’t Apply for Jobs Unless They’re 100% Qualified
By Tara Sophia Mohr, Harvard Business Review

David Bordwell and Kristin Thompson discuss the one movie everyone must see
By Sam Fragoso, The Dissolve

Storytelling ability connected Brian Williams with viewers but also led to his downfall
By Manuel Roig-Franzia, Scott Higham and Amy Brittain, The Washington Post

The Difference Between Routine and Ritual: How to Master the Balancing Act of Controlling Chaos and Finding Magic in the Mundane
By Maria Popova, Brain Pickings

Which news organizations let their reporters swear?
By Benjamin Mullin, Poynter

Let’s Call Female Online Harassment What It Really Is: Terrorism
By Anne Thériault, VICE

Women shouldn’t have to lead like men to be successful
By Roxanne Gay, Fortune

Women of Color Working in STEM Fields Are Frequently Mistaken for Janitors
By Sarah Mirk, Bitch

A Controversial Ranking of Mr. Darcys
By Sarah Hagi, The Hairpin

Gender gaps in journalism classes and newsrooms concern students
By Antara Sinha, USA Today

The Husband Did It
By Alice Bolin, The Awl

For Less Corporate Fraud, Add Female Executives
By Gillian B. White, The Atlantic

Leave a Reply

