I’m Still Here!

I’m the first person to admit the job hunt is tough. The youth unemployment numbers state it as fact, and I’m here to tell you that it’s true. Luckily, I’m undeterred and I don’t give up easily.

I could repeat some tired adages and clichés and say,”Keep calm and carry on,” or “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade,” but I won’t. To me, that is giving in and saying, “Please job, just fall into my lap”. Job seeking is an active process and I’m going at it like it’s my job. You make it happen yourself.

I’m fortunate to have awesome friends and family who have full faith in me and help me make connections where I can. I have wonderful mentors who are putting me in touch with their contacts and giving me great advice.

I’m networking, engaging online and setting up meetings. I’m updating my resume and giving it to whoever will take it. I’m pursuing freelancing and volunteer writing whenever I can. I figure that if I shake enough trees, something will fall eventually. It’s a numbers game, plain and simple.

So, for now, my daily job application regimen is what I’m up to. Recording, producing and editing my podcast about film called Reel Talk is what I’m up to. Writing, networking and making it happen is what I’m up to.

One of these days I’m going to get a job and, whether it’s in print, broadcast, online or something else, it’s going to be great! But, for now, I’m keeping my sunny side up and working hard.

It’s a jungle out there, but there’s room for me!

Leave a Reply

