It’s the end of the semester. Do you know where your J-Schooler is?

 

Well, it’s that time of year again, ladies and gentlemen. A time for careful thought and introspection. Recollection. Pondering. Plotting. All those things that help you chart your course for the upcoming year.

Well, it would be if you had any degree of certainty in your “Fiver-Year Plan”.

Right now, I’m trying to figure out if I’m closer to the Rock or the Hard Place and, truth be told, I can’t tell. But, what I can tell you is that 2010 has been a year of exponential knowledge acquisition, learning (which is not the same thing) and experience-gaining.

At the beginning of this year, I feared Excel spreadsheets, loathed transcribing interviews and couldn’t tell you what a Nut-Graf was, let alone write one.

Now, I can multi-track audio, produce an audio slide-show, write an analytical piece and churn out a solid 500-word story on deadline. Heck, I even produced a 10 minute radio news segment!

Yes ladies and gentlemen, with each passing day, your humble journalism student is starting to look and feel more like a “real journalist”. But I suppose that’s the normal course of things since, by this time next year, I will have one semester of school left, my law school applications will be submitted and I’ll be charting my path for world domination. Uh, I mean, world exploration.

So what then of this entry? To this I say, I don’t really know.

I just know that it will be funny to look back in a year’s time and read it again.

Full steam ahead!

-Christine

 

Leave a Reply

